* Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)

Okanogan County has formed the Okanogan County Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC). 

The LEPC was formed to meet the requirements set forth by the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA) of 1986, also know as SARA Title III.  This lays out several mandates, such as formation of a Local Emergency Planning Committee and a Hazardous Materials Response Plan.  The Okanogan County LEPC has their plan in place and continues to review and update the plan as outlined in Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 118-40.

The Okanogan County LEPC maintains at least one representative from each of the following disciplines in the LEPC:

  • State and Local officials
  • Law enforcement
  • Emergency management
  • Firefighting
  • First aid
  • Health profession
  • Local environmental
  • Hospital
  • Transportation personnel
  • Broadcast and print media
  • Community groups
  • Owners and operators of facilities subject to the requirements of Section 302(b) of EPCRA

Additional information on EPCRA is available at: http://www.ecy.wa.gov/epcra

Database of Hazardous Materials: https://cameochemicals.noaa.gov/

Tier II Reporters