* Lodging Tax Advisory Committee

DISTRICT #2 Position #1

Actual Tourist Attendance Reports

The Okanogan County Lodging Tax Advisory Committee (LTAC) (members determined by RCW 67.28.1817) shall advise the Board of County Commissioners on the appropriation of the annual investment of lodging tax revenues, which the county receives from businesses that provide overnight transient lodging. LTAC membership is designated by commissioner resolution (125-2014 as amended by 13-202054-2020   
&   27-2024) and by individual appointment letters by the Board of County Commissioners.

LTAC membership include representatives from the hotel industry (collectors), representatives of the Tourism Industry (at large), representatives from tourism agencies that qualify and use lodging taxes (receivers) and is chaired by an elected member of the Board of County Commissioners.  There is equal representation on the LTAC of both collectors and receivers of the tax as well as one member who is an elected official of Okanogan County who serves as chair of the committee. 

LTAC members are:
Vacant-At-Large Tourism Industry Commissioner District #2
Jennifer Farmer-At-Large Tourism Industry Commissioner District #1 & #3
Steve Devin-Collector-Commissioner District #2
Don Linnertz-Receiver-Commissioner District #2
Janet Warner- Collector-Commissioner District #1 & #3
Arnie Marchand-Receiver- Commissioner District #1 & #3
Andy Hover-Elected County Commissioner

Destination Marketing Master Plan

2025 LTAC Funding Application

2025 LTAC Application Instructions

For questions or to request an application packet via email please contact Lanie Johns at either 509-422-7105 or by email ljohns@co.okanogan.wa.us

Information On Lodging Tax Funds & Who May Apply

What are "Lodging Tax Funds?"
Okanogan County approved resolutions 51-1998 and 37-1999, which authorized  4% lodging tax on overnight accommodations to help pay for marketing tourism in Okanogan County.  Lodging taxes are collected when overnight accommodations are purchased. Overnight accommodations may include AirBnB's, RV park camping, or staying in a hotel within the unincorporated areas of the county. 
How can those funds be used?

Washington State law (RCW 67.28.1815) requires that funds be expended “…solely for the purpose of paying all or part of the cost of tourism promotion, acquisition of tourism-related facilities, or operation of tourism-related facilities…”

Tourism promotion is defined as

“…activities and expenditures designed to increase tourism, including but not limited to advertising, publicizing or otherwise distributing information for the purpose of attracting and welcoming tourists; developing strategies to expand tourism; operating tourism, promotion agencies and funding marketing of special events and festivals designed to attract tourists. 

Who can apply for funds?
Any non-profit organization or municipally owned Visitor Information Center that will use the funds for the purposes of promoting tourism in Okanogan County with the goal of increasing the number of overnight stays at lodging facilities.
Who decides which applications get funded?
All applications are reviewed by the Lodging Tax Advisory Committee (LTAC). The committee is charged with making individual recommendations for funding to the Board of County Commissioners (BOCC). The BOCC then approves or disapproves the recommendation.